Skip to content
Bradford Counts — Bradford, in numbers.Local help →

Bradford · England

People and living standards

Bradford council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Bradford

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bradford local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 468,808 in 1991 to 557,758 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bradford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 470,804 people in 1996; 557,758 people in 2025. 18.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bradford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991468,808
1992469,499
1993470,360
1994471,338
1995471,163
1996470,804
1997469,199
1998468,001
1999466,933
2000467,124
2001470,753
2002475,184
2003479,166
2004484,650
2005491,361
2006495,658
2007501,357
2008507,323
2009512,392
2010518,002
2011523,115
2012525,522
2013528,712
2014531,795
2015534,919
2016538,178
2017540,447
2018542,542
2019545,966
2020547,141
2021546,839
2022550,629
2023556,919
2024559,818
2025557,758
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bradford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 112,965 people in 1996; 122,292 people in 2025. 8.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bradford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991110,452
1992111,505
1993112,294
1994113,465
1995113,517
1996112,965
1997112,011
1998111,335
1999110,926
2000110,274
2001109,228
2002109,555
2003110,347
2004111,522
2005113,050
2006114,461
2007115,901
2008117,900
2009119,759
2010121,382
2011122,341
2012123,044
2013124,122
2014125,092
2015125,713
2016126,824
2017127,549
2018127,547
2019127,360
2020126,284
2021124,424
2022123,820
2023124,056
2024123,975
2025122,292
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bradford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 289,283 people in 1996; 345,942 people in 2025. 19.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bradford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991289,977
1992289,494
1993289,394
1994289,359
1995289,029
1996289,283
1997288,768
1998288,445
1999288,223
2000289,246
2001293,766
2002297,681
2003300,725
2004304,928
2005310,024
2006313,075
2007317,541
2008321,375
2009324,012
2010327,498
2011330,990
2012330,559
2013330,961
2014331,620
2015332,976
2016333,938
2017334,273
2018335,156
2019337,277
2020338,614
2021338,915
2022341,794
2023346,520
2024348,109
2025345,942
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bradford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 68,556 people in 1996; 89,524 people in 2025. 30.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bradford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199168,379
199268,500
199368,672
199468,514
199568,617
199668,556
199768,420
199868,221
199967,784
200067,604
200167,759
200267,948
200368,094
200468,200
200568,287
200668,122
200767,915
200868,048
200968,621
201069,122
201169,784
201271,919
201373,629
201475,083
201576,230
201677,416
201778,625
201879,839
201981,329
202082,243
202183,500
202285,015
202386,343
202487,734
202589,524
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 546,412 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bradford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh175,66432.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African10,9782%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups15,0062.7%
White334,00461.1%
Other ethnic group10,7602%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 522,452 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bradford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White352,31767.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups12,9792.5%
Asian/Asian British140,14926.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British9,2671.8%
Other ethnic group7,7401.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 467,665 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bradford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White366,04178.3%
Mixed6,9371.5%
Asian/Asian British88,39718.9%
Black/Black British4,3330.9%
Chinese/Other1,9570.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 28.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bradford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,206 per person in 1997; £18,641 per person in 2024. 102.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bradford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,206
19989,330
19999,784
200010,305
200110,321
200210,483
200310,697
200411,116
200511,184
200611,463
200711,874
200812,076
200912,325
201012,240
201112,307
201212,645
201313,110
201413,458
201514,071
201614,064
201714,380
201814,586
201915,079
202015,314
202115,710
202216,539
202317,636
202418,641
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bradford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -13.2% in 1997; -28.2% in 2024. 15 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bradford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-13.2
1998-13.8
1999-13.5
2000-13.4
2001-16.6
2002-17.1
2003-17.9
2004-18.1
2005-20.4
2006-21.7
2007-22.6
2008-23.3
2009-23
2010-24.2
2011-24.5
2012-25.1
2013-25.2
2014-25.6
2015-26
2016-27
2017-27
2018-28.5
2019-28.4
2020-27
2021-28.1
2022-28
2023-27.9
2024-28.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

22.6%

21 March 2021 · Bradford local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24%

21 March 2021 · Bradford local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.9%

21 March 2021 · Bradford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£183,000

July 2026 · Bradford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£745

August 2026 · Bradford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.